IPL Trophy Price | IPL Winning Prize Money 2008 – 2022

Recently, the IPL 2021 winner team took home their IPL prize money, which was INR 20 crores. Not only this, the individual reward prizes were except this amount. Let’s have a look at the evolution of IPL prize money over the years.

IPL Prize Money from 2008 to 2022:

IPL gained mass attention from the beginning of its inaugural season in 2008. And since then, it has been the star of the cricket world. The current 8 teams of the IPL tournament are owned by a flock of Bollywood celebrities and business tiers. Their involvement in the league not only attracts attention but money as well.

The increase in IPL’s viewership has helped turn it into a carnival, so its betting rates have also increased. These rates go up and down according to the changing situations. And if you really want to win big money with IPL betting, you need to keep yourself updated with the IPL cup rates. So, register yourself at 24betting and enjoy the live cricket betting rates in India.

All of this has helped IPL become a cash-rich league over the years. And IPL’s winning prize pool evolved to INR 50 crores. The recent IPL 2021 champions won prize money of INR 20 crores. While the runners-up received INR 12.5 crores. And the teams that ended third and fourth were satisfied with 8.75 crores each.

There is IPL Prize Money from 2008 to 2022 seasons in the table below.

Season First Place prize money Second Place prize money Third Place prize money Fourth Place prize money
2022 20 13 7 6.5
2021 20 12.5 8.75 8.75
2020 10 6.25 4.375 4.375
2019 20 12.5 8.75 8.75
2018 20 12.5 NA NA
2017 15 10 NA NA
2016 20 11 NA NA
2015 15 10 NA NA
2014 15 10 7.5 7.5
2013 NA NA NA NA
2012 NA NA NA NA
2011 10 5 NA NA
2010 NA NA NA NA
2009 NA NA NA NA
2008 4.8 2.4 1.2 1.2

However, the IPL prize money was never this huge. Back in 2008, when Rajasthan Royals won the IPL inaugural title, they took home INR 4.8 crores. And the runners up were presented with INR 2.4 crores only.

And then, with rising in the value BBCI announced an increase in the IPL winning prize pool, which increased to INR 20 crores by 2010. And CSK alone, the IPL trophy winners of that season took home 8 crores.

It was IPL 2016 when the IPL winning prize increased to a whopping amount of INR 20 crores. And SRH won that IPL prize money. While, runners-up team, RCB received INR 11 crores. After that, though there were little ups and downs in the prize money, it never went too down until 2020.

The whole Covid-19 situation and BBCI arranging IPL’s second phase in UAE reduced the prize money to 50%. And MI, the IPL trophy winner of 2020, received a cash prize of INR 10 crores only.  While the runners-up took home INR6.25 crores.

Latest Post


More Recipes Like This